Entering the vault: Securing your storage with OneDrive Personal Vault

By: Khurram Hafeez

A new Microsoft feature, OneDrive Personal Vault, is ready to roll out soon.The OneDrive Personal Vault is a new layer of security to further protect your most sensitive and important files in OneDrive through identity verification such as a fingerprint, facial recognition, PIN or a code from the Microsoft Authenticator app, or a code sent to you via email or SMS.

Your locked files in Personal Vault have an extra layer of security, safeguarding them if someone gains access to your account or device. The contents of your Personal Vault are encrypted at-rest in the Microsoft cloud and in-transit to your device, automatically locking after a period of inactivity (20 minutes on the web, 3 minutes on a mobile app).

Personal Vault is supported on:

  • Windows 10 (Version 1903 or newer)
  • Android 6 (or newer)
  • iOS 11.3 (or newer)
  • A web browser with the latest version of Edge, Chrome, or Firefox

Below we’ll walk you through how to set up and disable your Personal Vault, and we’ll share how you can recover and share files in your Personal Vault.

Setting up your Personal Vault

If you’re interested in the OneDrive Personal Vault, you’ll need to set it up separately on each device you plan to use it. The first time you see PersonalVault in your OneDrive, you’ll see a message where you can select “Get started.”

If you don’t see the message, browse to your OneDrive and select the Personal Vault folder.

  1. Read about Personal Vault and select “Next.”
  2. In the “Verify your identity” dialog box, verify your account info and make note of your email address in case you want it for the next step. Then select “Verify.”
  3. Choose a verification method. For example, select Text and follow the instructions to send yourself a text message on your phone.
  4. If you’re using text or email, find the text or email message and type in the code that you were sent.

And now you’re in and are free to replicate this process on each device you use for OneDrive to ensure your files are secure.

Disabling your Personal Vault

In the event that you are looking to remove this feature, disabling Personal Vault is just as simple as setting it up. PLEASE NOTE: Disabling your Personal Vault will permanently delete any files in your Personal Vault at the time you disable it. You won’t be able to recover these files later.

  1. In your OneDrive, select Settings > Options, and then select Personal Vault from the left navigation.
  2. Select the Disable Personal Vaultslider to disable Personal Vault.
  3. If you’re sure you want to disable Personal Vault and delete all files and folders inside Personal Vault, select Disable.
  4. Because disabling Personal Vault deletes your files and you won’t be able to restore them.

Recovering + sharing files

Files deleted from your Personal Vault aren’t visible in your recycle bin unless your Personal Vault is unlocked. When your Personal Vault is unlocked, the recycle bin files become visible.

While you can’t share a file that’s in your Personal Vault, you can move the file out of the Personal Vault in order to share it.

Ready to enter the vault?

Personal Vault will begin rolling out soon in Australia, New Zealand and Canada and will be available to everyone by the end of the year.

The new world of technology requires constant forward motion—as long as it’s down the right road. If you’re interested in safeguarding your files with OneDrive Personal Vault, our team of experts can provide a fresh set of eyes for the road ahead. Contact INNOVA for more information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *